Jasper Johns

Jasper Johns
Library Shelf Location 18.JOHN
Publication Date 2009
Description In the 1950s, with deceptively straightforward paintings of flags, targets, numbers, and letters, Jasper Johns ushered in a new era in modern art. This book features ten works selected from The Museum of Modern Art's substantial collection of Johns's work, including his breakthrough paintings Flag (1954–55) and Target with Four Faces (1955) and such notable later paintings and drawings as Diver (1962–63), Summer (1985) and Bushbaby (2003). A lively essay by Carolyn Lanchner, a former curator of painting and sculpture at the Museum, accompanies each work, illuminating its significance and placing it in its historical moment in the development of modern art and in Johns's own life. 43 illustrations.
ISBN 9780870707681
Quantity 1
Pages 48
Author Carolyn Lanchner
Format Paperback
Publisher Museum of Modern Art, New York
Related Artist Jasper Johns
Category Painting
Artist's Nationality American (USA)
Language English

Other Artists

Other Recent Books