Serpentine Gallery Manifesto Marathon

Serpentine Gallery Manifesto Marathon
Library Shelf Location 17.SERP
Publication Date 2009
Description Manifesto Marathon, the third in the Serpentine Gallerys acclaimed series of Marathon events, took place in the closing weekend of the Serpentine Gallery Pavilion 2008, designed by Frank Gehry. The Manifesto Marathon came at a time when artists had begun to work less in formal groups and defined artistic movements. The publication showcased a new generation of artists alongside practitioners from the worlds of literature, design, science, philosophy, music and fi lm who were returning to the historical notion of the manifesto. The Manifesto Marathon drew on the Serpentine Gallerys close proximity to Speakers Corner in Hyde Park, which has been used as a platform by Karl Marx, Vladimir Lenin, George Orwell and William Morris, among many others. Avant-garde pioneer Yoko Ono, Gilbert & George, who famously proclaimed ‘Art for All’, Ben Vautier, key protagonist of the Fluxus movement, and legendary artist Elaine Sturtevant will join a new generation of artists such as Terence Koh, Hilary Koob-Sassen and Athanasios Argianas to present their manifestos for the 21st century in this two-day ‘futurological congress’ in the park. The Marathon will also feature architects, including Andrea Branzi, Peter Cook, Charles Jencks, Claude Parent and Rem Koolhaas; scientists, writers and historians including the eminent Eric Hobsbawm; film directors including the legendary Agnès Varda; and philosophers, designers, and musicians including musical revolutionary Brian Eno. Vivienne Westwood’s manifesto Active Resistance to Propaganda will be presented by 26 performers and Marina Abramović will be accompanied by 14 performers. This year’s Manifesto Marathon is the third in a series of Marathon events conceived by Hans Ulrich Obrist, Serpentine Gallery Co-director of Exhibitions and Programmes and Director of International Projects and follows the 2006 24-Hour Interview Marathon, created with Rem Koolhaas, and the 2007 Experiment Marathon, created with Olafur Eliasson. Artists involved: Vivienne Westwood Pier Vittorio Aureli Hilary Koob-Sassen Ingo Niermann and Zak Kyes Elaine Sturtevant Rasheed Araeen Peter Cook Taryn Simon Richard Wentworth Gilbert & George Ben Vautier Jonas Mekas Jean-Jacques Lebel Tom McCarthy Mark Wallinger Yoko Ono Barbara Steveni Ekaterina Degot Raqs Media Collective Nathaniel Mellors Lee Scrivner Andrea Branzi Henry Flynt Marina Abramovic Agnès Varda Raqs media collective Gilbert & George Ben Vautier Jonas Mekas Jean-Jacques Lebel Tom McCarthy Mark Wallinger Yoko Ono Christian Boltanski Paul Chan Yona Friedman John Giorno David Hockney John Latham Gustav Metzger Yvonne Rainer Jalal Toufic Manifesto Club Susan Hefuna Stephen Willats Falke Pisano Adam Pendleton Claude Parent Jimmie Durham Nicolas Bourriaud PLATFORM The Otolith Group Tino Sehgal and Hans Ulrich Obrist Karl Holmqvist Nick Laessing Terence Koh Stewart Home Mark Titchner K8 Hardy Rem Koolhaas Fritz Haeg Charles Jencks Eric Hobsbawm and Hans Ulrich Obrist Athanasios Argianas Silvia Kolbowski SpRoUt Brian Eno Mark Aerial Waller and Giles Round
ISBN 9783865606945
Quantity 1
Pages 284
Authors Julia Peyton-Jones, Hans Ulrich Obrist
Format Paperback
Publisher Koenig Books
Categories Group Exhibition/Multiple Artists, Art by Subject
Language English

Other Artists

Other Recent Books