BALTIC Artists’ Award is a biennial award established to recognise artists deserving of an international platform and offers a step-change moment in their career, each receiving an exhibition at BALTIC, 25,000 GBP to realise new work and a 5,000 GBP artist fee. Three established international artists are invited to nominate an artist in the early stages of their career.

For the 2022 iteration, BALTIC renames the award The Vasseur BALTIC Artists’ Award, in memory of the late Isabel Vasseur, an admired figure who inspired a generation of curators and artists with her fearless approach to putting art in the public realm.

For the 2022 exhbition Otobong Nkanga has nominated Ima-Abasi Okon, Mika Rottenberg has nominated Laleh Khorramian and Hito Steyerl has nominated Fernando García-Dory.

For the second BALTIC Artists' Award presented in 2019, Lubaina Himid nominated Ingrid PollardMichael Rakowitz nominated Aaron Hughes and Haegue Yang nominated Kang Jungsuck.

For the first BALTIC Artists' Award presented in 2017, Pedro Cabrita Reis nominated Jose Davila, Lorna Simpson nominated Eric. N. Mack, Mike Nelson nominated Shen Xin and Monica Bonvicini nominated Toni Schmale.

Digital Archive

Archive Catalogue

Library Catalogue