Yang Shaobin: X-Blind Spot

Yang Shaobin: X-Blind Spot
Library Shelf Location 18.SHAO
Publication Date 2009
Description X - Blind Spot is a publication that documents the second phase of a two-part project (2004–2008) exploring the condition of coal mining in Northern China by Chinese contemporary artist Yang Shaobin and the Long March Project. X - Blind Spot explores the peripheral consequences of this industry, including its medical, social, and environmental repercussions. This publication not only illustrates Yang Shaobin’s compelling realizations—a range of oil paintings, installations, videos, and sculptures—but also fully documents the project team’s experiences in these isolated coal mining communities, shedding light on a complex world of labor exploitation and psychological trauma. This book is supplemented with extensive contextual imagery and background information to highlight and provide more sociological context to the subject matter and process endured in the realization of this significant project.
ISBN 9788881587421
Quantity 1
Pages 128
Authors Nikos Papastergiadis, Lu Jie
Format Hardback
Publisher Charta
Related Artist Yang Shaobin
Category Installation
Artist's Nationality Chinese
Language English

Other Artists

Other Recent Books